Mid-Summer Diary – The Mercedes Benz Miami Swim Shows: Miami Madness

20 Jul

Text, Vivian Kelly

On the last leg of my journey to this year’s MB Fashion Week Swim Shows, I had some time to kick back and organize my calendar for the next 3 days in South Beach.

That’s right – this is not a typo –  I needed to seriously organize my calendar. No, it ISN’T NYFW, but poring over my show calendar I found that I was triple booked upon arrival – not including the compulsory dash over to the Raleigh lobby, home of IMG’s Miami Command Center to pick up my badge to be able to gain access to the Raleigh Show venue.

I promptly tweeted this phenomenon out while waiting for my connection to taxi to the runway and get me out of Charlotte, NC and to SOBE.

Accustomed to being a live ping pong ball during NYFW for season after season, I actually considered if I could: hit the Inca/Warren Tricomi Presentation at the W South Beach on 22nd and Collins [4-7p.m.], the Khloe Kardashian/Nivea Tweet Up Event at the Soho Beach House on 43rd and Collins[6:30 sharp tweeting with K.K], and make the 6p.m. Caffe Swimwear Show at the Cabana Grande and the 7p.m. Dolores Cortes/Oasis Show, both at the Raleigh, 17th and Collins.

I forgot to mention that I’m backstage at my favorite show of this Fashion Week, Mara Hoffman, and have an interview scheduled post-show, jammed before the Aqua di Lara/Oasis show, starting at 9, another show also at the Raleigh at 10. It all ends with the Mara Hoffman after-party at the W’s Wet Bar, where I’ll get to have a close look at the limited edition cans Mara designed, and another shot at the interview if it doesn’t happen as scheduled at 8.

If all of the above sounds unrealistic, it turns out that it was.

A few hours later – WHAT Actually Happened:

I missed KK’s Tweet Up, the Caffe Swim Show, and the Inca/Tricomi event, due to renovations going on at the Hotel Shelley, up on 8th and Collins. I’d booked the cute boutique hotel to get some peace and quiet post shows. It was already cutting it close, but  all plans derailed when the Manager sent me in a cab [on them] to another South Beach Hotel Group property.  The result was an upgrade to the 3-star Catalina, directly across the street from the Raleigh.

That got me there in time to get to the Raleigh press credentials office and just make it into my seat at Dolores Cortes for the 7 p.m. show.

7p.m. Dolores Cortes Show was an animal print and feather story.

Yes, I’m referring to those ubiquitous Steven Tyler feathers he wore on American Idol that became the trend of the summer of 2011 with the teen set.

The main themes here were wild animal and tribal prints mixed in the shades of a Keywest sunset; fuchsia, lavender, orange and teal. As far as silhouette, there were loads of one pieces with enough cutouts to give you less coverage than a bikini a one-piece.

NEXT UP: Images from Mara Hoffman’s Resort 2012 Collection, which was undisputedly the show of the evening and Rambo’s Beauty Pick of the Week.

Hint: As I started unpacking, he made a beeline for the Makeup Forever lipsticks and glosses. Tune in tomorrow to see what he loves most.

Leave a Reply

