All Aboard with Douglas Hannant on the USS Intrepid: Resort 2012

10 Jun

Text, Vivian Kelly

As you can probably surmise, I’m all aboard with Douglas’s latest collection, which I guest blogged for my friends a The Fashion List.

The 6:00p.m. show was feel-good and over the top in the best way possible. It was great to see a bit of Eighties’ style excess back on deck. Maybe it was the “look at me!” orange-red lip or the models’ “modely” exaggerated walk or the champagne pre-show, or a combination of all of the above.

Runway Image, shot by Fan Wu, The Fashion List

In any case, Douglas’s statement post show. “I don’t think that I can ever do another resort collection for the rest of my life. After this!” makes perfect sense. Partner Frederick Anderson’s acquiring the 3rd floor flight deck location for the show made DH Resort 2011 a winner before I even saw any of the clothes. The stainless steel dogleg in the invite was also another nice touch. I miss interesting invites such as these!

Watch the video below, to hear Douglas’s thoughts post-show.

2 Responses to “All Aboard with Douglas Hannant on the USS Intrepid: Resort 2012”

  1. fashion blast June 16, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Can’t hear one word of the interview, whats the point? Invest in a better camera.

    • thefashionexaminer June 20, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      What do you recommend that is portable and not off the wall expensive? The sound factor is frustrating, only so much ambient noise I can get rid of. Would appreciate your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

