Figuring-Out Transitional Dressing with some help from Iman, Loulou, Gwen, and Other Star Designers

30 Mar

Text, Vivian Kelly

At times, I hate April.

To me, April Fools’ Day means to me is that I’m going to have to figure out how to transition from winter bear-mode dressing to something lighter but not overdo it and end up being cold because I’ve underdressed.

The obvious solution is “layer dressing” and you’ve read and heard this “fashion tip” a bazillion times.

What changes is THE PIECES you need to accomplish this and the trick in looking current is to decide just what these pieces are.

Before I had time to think about it too hard, an email from Lily Salembier of Paul Wilmot Communications hit my mailbox and took care of my problem.

It was chock full with of the moment items  from some of my favorite ladies in the fashion biz: Iman, Gwen Stefani, Loulou de la Falaise, Donna Karan.

Updating your Transitional Wardrobe with the items we feature here does not involve a major financial investment if you’ve already got some key pieces such as  the perfect trench in your closet and ballet flats or the of the moment loafers, or wedges you can actually walk in. What’s the point of being blessed with good weather if your feet hurt so much that you can’t possibly handle taking a walk in the Park to enjoy it?

The updated items I’m loving are as follows:

A jacket from IMAN Global Chic

Patterned hosiery from DKNY

Edgy sweaters from L.A.M.B.

Fun scarves from Improvd

Wedges from Loulou de la Falaise for HSN

Bright colors on your nails from butter London

THE PIECES, broken-down

IMAN’s Global Chic Spring Safari Jacket is ideal for April’s typically rainy weather. Drawstring details, its  light weight and  neutral color make it a spring wardrobe staple.

Here’s a color tip – choose a neutral that enhances your complexion. Before purchasing one of these jackets, printout the swatch of the colors you’re thinking about and hold them up to your face. You’ll know which one to buy, right away. The wrong neutral can actually make you look sallow, with ugly yellow or green undertones. The right one makes you look polished and sophisticated and who doesn’t want some of THAT?

IMAN Global Chic Spring Safari Jacket, $89.95, HSN.com

Next, trade in bulky winter sweaters for funky lightweight knits. I like mine handmade – my Mother is a genius knitter, but there are other cool options. If you don’t have time for knitting, Gwen Stefani’s L.A.M.B. oversized pointelle top is comfortable and fashion-forward, layered over a casual top. I’m loath to part with my cherished Michael Kors 3-ply cashmere oversize turtlenecks, but when it’s time, it’s time. The L.A.M.B. sweater has a cute shape and you’ll feel as if you lost weight after losing all those bulky layers and scarves.

Last but not least, get a new scarf, but something lighter-weight, maybe viscose instead of cashmere. I’ve always found that having a scarf around my neck keeps me warm after the sun goes down, and the temperature takes a dive.

At the fall 2011 Libertine show, the CFDA’s Associate Executive Director, Lisa Smilor, told me about a new line she loves called Improvd. After some searching, I found quite a few on Tobi.com. They’re well priced at well under $50 and add that Gypset edge to your transitional dressing.

**SO, what transition pieces are you wearing to get you through the weeks until Memorial Day? I’d like to know. Leave a comment and share your resources!

Leave a Reply

