Costume Jewelry Lover Alert – Chelsea Taylor Sixties and Seventies Inspired Designs

15 Mar

Text, Vivian Kelly

I came across Chelsea Taylor Jewelry while visiting Robert Verdi‘s Luxe Laboratory during the most recent NYFW. Robert is a celebrity stylist/lifestyle guru/taste maven – really, and he’s actually nice and had a great droll sense of humour.

The Sitting Area at Robert Verdi's Gorgeous Luxe Lab

While there, Chelsea Taylor’s rep, Amanda Breault, showed me some truly stunning cocktail rings that are a great addition to any fashion loving girl’s spring wardrobe.

This color-driven line uses Swarovski Elements [a new product band for Swarovski Crystal] and having never taken gemology classes, I’ll be da—d if I can tell the difference. Since consolidating my fine jewelry collection down to a few key pieces, with my jeweler, Paul Tyson‘s guidance, I’m ready for some fun inexpensive pieces I don’t have to insure.

Chelsea Taylor is well priced and offers an impressive number of colored Swarovski crystal hues you can choose from. It falls into the “I’ll have one in every color category” minus the guilt of a possible overdraft on your account because you’ve just succumbed to an indulgence. Each piece is made of sterling silver and rhodium plated. The stones are not all the same, there’s graduation of color which makes it seem more “real” and you can choose from 19 different colors and even work with them to custom design your own piece.

Like everyone else on Earth, you watched at least SOME of the Academy Award Red Carpet arrivals and noticed some of the stunning ice on the A-listers’ ears, necks and wrists, accompanied by heavy duty armed security guys just out of the camera’s lens range.

Chelsea Taylor’s got some pieces you can pick up to get the look for less that are close but not an obnoxious A.B.S. style knock-off and I really like them for that.

Here are some great pieces that bear a flattering RESEMBLANCE to the real deal , Michelle Williams, and Anne Hathaway rocked at the Oscars. *Michelle’s new platinum blonde do, the work of my friends Anthony Palermo and Leonard Zagami, really served to show-off her spectacular earrings. Just last week, I happened to see a pic of her tacked-up in the Salon’s bathroom. If you have short hair, you need earrings like these.

A Chelsea Taylor Necklace Similar to Anne Hathaway's Oscar Stunner

C.T.'s Oscar Style Earrings

Be patient though, items are custom made and some require up to a 6-8 week wait, but there’s a convenience factor attached. After you’ve completed your design, you can type-in your zip code and pick it up at a store location near you. Love that! These days, convenience is king and the  old saw, “Good things are worth waiting for” definitely applies.

Tonight, to relax, I’m going to start designing my own Chelsea Taylor ring, which I’ll show you sometime this spring. I’m thinking “emeralds” for a big honking cocktail ring, but then again, the ruby is my birthstone…


Any suggestions? Please send me a comment!


Leave a Reply

