TheFE Loves the Natural Look -MiN New York’s ProEnzyme Microdermabrasion Facial Scrub and Lumene Finland’s Time Freeze Eye Perfecting Treatment

14 Mar

Text, Vivian Kelly

Lately, I’ve been on a kick about “going natural”. This does NOT mean that I’m advocating a no-grooming approach to beauty – not by any means. After attending a swanky launch party for Douglas Hannant at the Payne Whitney on Fifth Ave., I have to agree with my friend, Debby DeMontford’s assessment. Debby is one of the most outspoken and funniest writers I know and you should read her on her site, Crap and Couture. Talk about saying it like it is! I love her for this.

Watch the short video clip of her take on Botox, and Fillers from the party to see what she means.

‘The faces are mostly crap and the clothes are mostly couture.”

I laughed, but she got me thinking very seriously about whether I wanted to continue to march down that road OR if I’d just do what my inner compass kept nagging me to do – “age gracefully and naturally”.

Grace Kelly would have looked ridiculous and desperate if she’d tried to hold on to the youthful beauty she possessed which was immortalized in “To Catch a Thief” and her other Hitchcock flicks. Thank goodness she allowed herself to mature from a Hollywood Starlet to an older but still beautiful International Jet Setter and Princess.

This post is just the beginning, of the conversation I’ve started with you readers trying to answer the question – “natural, or ….not?”. As I keep talking to beauty and fashion folk, I’m simultaneously trying out products that hold potential of delivering some real results. So far, I’ve found a few products that really work – without scary side effects.

For some at-home microdermabrasion, rather than a session at the dermatologist’s, there’s MiN New York‘s ProEnzyme Trio AntiAging Facial Scrub. As Levi Pharaoh promised when he put some samples in my bag, “you will love this”. I do, and use it daily. After rinsing, the L’Oreal Youth Code Day Lotion w/ 30 SPF actually feels as if it’s penetrating my skin. Once the tube runs out, I may just splurge and see if the FOUND Cosmetics SARPA serum  MiN carries for $225 a jar really does erase wrinkles. The description is certainly intriguing. “FOUND Sarpa Wrinkle Reducing Serum is a beneficial potion formulated with a peptide that imitates the venom of the Viper of the Temple of the Azure Cloud or Tropidolaemus wagleri.Swiss scientists studied this snake and produced biotechnologically one of the most precious peptides of all time. This peptide is safe and won’t bite you.” IMITATES is the key here. A Botox injection IS actually venom ie: poison and a few $100 more to boot. The cream’s looking like a value from this perspective.

Ditto for Lumene’s Time Freeze which actually does banish undereye puffiness. The potent combo of heather, Metabiotics, Resveratrol and plant proteins feels cool – but no sting.

Lumene Finland's Time Freeze

Another area that causes much anxiety in my household is break-outs. Because my skin is thin and prone to rosacea, I’m terrified when the occasional blemish turns-up on my face. Not dealing with it is not an option and neither is covering it with concealer. Happily, MenScience Androceuticals has a genius zit zapper called Acne Spot Repair. It doesn’t sting or leave the area with an ugly whitish residue like some of the harsher alternatives [like Pro-Active] do. It’s also good for those nasty little blackheads that tend to lodge on the side of your nose no matter how diligent you are with your daily skincare regimen.

Menscience Androceuticals Acne Spot Repair, $21

The fourth product I’m crazy about is a lipstick, and it’s cheap! Maybelline‘s “Moon Beam” #950 is Limited Edition and is one of the top shades for spring. This one’s meant for a day you want to wear the sheerest beige but don’t want goopy gloss. This lipstick is moist and much more attractive than dabbing Vaseline on your lips. Hurry and get it though, because the mini-display at my local Walgreens featuring Christy Turlington was already half empty.

Next up, Nail Queen, Essie Weingarten talks to us about why natural nails are the best way to go and what colors to wear when the weather heats up.

Any guesses on what her personal shades are?

Leave a Reply

